Logo - CCME
Digital Issue - CCME

ASHRAE Awards recognise members’ achievements

Awards were presented at the 2018 ASHRAE Annual Conference, organisers say

| | Jun 24, 2018 | 3:27 pm
Share this story

Atlanta, Georgia, USA, 24 June 2018: ASHRAE recognised the outstanding achievements and contributions of members to the Society and the heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration industry at the 2018 ASHRAE Annual Conference, being held from June 23 to 27, in Houston, Texas, United States, the association said in a Press communiqué.

According to ASHRAE, the list of awards and recipients is as follows:

Lincoln Bouillon Award: Oscar Eduardo Ricaño Conseĵo, Ing., Monterrey chapter, received the award, which recognises a member who performs the most outstanding work in increasing membership.

Chapter Program Star Award: Abhishek Khurana, Toronto chapter, received the award, which recognises excellence in chapter programme endeavours.

William J. Collins, Jr. RP Award: Adam Graham, Ottawa Valley chapter, received the award, which recognises a chapter RP chair who excels in raising funds for ASHRAE’s RP campaign.

Environmental Health Award: Pawel Wargocki received the award for excellence in volunteer service focused on environmental health issues.

Homer Addams Award: Alireza Behfar received the award, which recognises a graduate student who has been engaged in an ASHRAE research project at a university that has graduate programmes in the areas of heating, ventilation and air conditioning and has achieved a high standard of performance in this work.

Grassroots Government Advocacy Award: Jui-Chen Roger Chang, National Capital chapter, received the award, which recognises individuals for outstanding effort and achievement in state, provincial and local government activities, in connection with technical issues related to the Society.

Lou Flagg Historical Award: Bruce L. Flaniken, Houston chapter, received the award, which recognises an individual for preparing the most outstanding historical presentation related to HVACR.

Standards Achievement Award: Gerald J. Kettler received the award, which recognises exceptional service in the area of standards leadership and technical contribution.

Ralph G. Nevins Physiology & Human Environment Award: Dusan Licina received the award, which is given to an investigator for significant accomplishments in the study of man’s response to the environment and its effect on human comfort, health and well-being.

Student Activities Achievement Award: Yumei Mata Hi received the award, which recognises a chapter student activities chair for growth of student activities.

ASHRAE Journal Paper Award: Omar John Hawit and Trevor Jaffe received the award for “Water-Energy Nexus: Heat Rejection Systems”, judged to be the best article published in ASHRAE Journal.

Science and Technology for the Built Environment Best Paper Award: Daniel Bacellar, Vikrant C. Aute, Zhiwei Huang, and Reinhard Radermacher, were recipients of the award for “Design Optimisation and Validation of High Performance Heat Exchangers using Approximation Assisted Optimisation and Additive Manufacturing”.

Crosby Field Award: Michael Roth, received the award for his paper “Updating the ASHRAE Climate Design Data for 2017,” which was judged to be the best paper presented before the Society.

ASHRAE Technical Paper Award: The following papers received this award, which recognises the authors of the best papers presented at Society conferences:

  • Omar Abdelaziz, and Som S. Shrestha, for “Evaluation of Alternative Refrigerants for Mini-Split Air Conditioners”.
  • Mohammad Rafati Nasr and Carey J. Simonson, for “Experimental Measurement of Frosting Limits in Cross-Flow Air-to-Air Energy Exchangers”.
  • Alejandro Rivas Prieto, Li Song, Wesley M. Thomas and Gang Wang, for “In-Situ Fan Curve Calibration for Virtual Airflow Sensor Implementation in VAV Systems”.
  • Bryan P. Rasmussen, Chao Wang and Kyaw Wynnfor “Experimental Comparison of Energy-Optimal Coordinated Control Strategies for Heat Pump Systems”.

Poster Presentation Award: Robert J. Hitchcock, John R. Butterfield, Elizabeth Ford Wilkins, and Francisco Forns-Samso, received the award, which is presented for “BIM-Enabled Operations and Maintenance Work Processes”. 

Willis H. Carrier Award: Mohammad Rafati Nasr, received the award, which is given to a member 32 years of age, or younger, for presenting an outstanding paper at a Society conference. The award is presented for “Experimental Measurement of Frosting Limits in Cross-Flow Air-to-Air Energy Exchangers”.

Distinguished Service Award: The following 21 members received the award:

  • Bruce Lee Billedeaux
  • Michael Blanford
  • Roland Charneux, Ing.
  • Jeff Clarke
  • Gary L. Cooper
  • William Fox
  • Michael W. Gallagher
  • Peter B. Gardner
  • Danny M. Halel
  • Rick M. Heiden
  • Bryan M. Holcomb
  • Joseph A. Karnaz
  • Russell Lavitt
  • Isabelle Lavoie
  • Farooq Mehboob
  • Svein Olav Morner
  • Kashif Nawaz
  • Joshua New
  • Gary W. Price
  • Cedric S. Trueman
  • John O. Varley

Exceptional Service Award: This award recognises Distinguished Service Award recipients who have continued to serve faithfully and with exemplary effort.

  • Fred Betz
  • Larry J. Fisher
  • Michael Newman
  • Xudong Yang

Distinguished 50-Year Member Award: 
The following 28 members received the award:

  • Naim Z. Azer
  • Thomas A. Bathgate
  • E. (Barney) Burroughs
  • Kenneth M. Clark
  • Byron W. Engen
  • David Gardner
  • Vijay K. Gupta
  • Bill Harrison
  • Richard B. Hayter
  • Richard O. Hunton
  • Ronald N. Jensen
  • John E. Kampmeyer
  • Winfield L. Kelley
  • Richard M. Kelso
  • William R. Kimball
  • Charles Morse, III
  • Bernard A. Nagengast
  • William S. Ostrander
  • Roger M. Pasch
  • Herbert Phillips
  • Ramon Pons
  • Laurentino Punsalan
  • David Reid
  • James L. Schulze
  • Norman R. Scott
  • Leo P. Stambaugh
  • Thomas H. Williams
  • George S. Yamamoto

Andrew T. Boggs Service Award: Van D. Baxter received the award, which recognises an Exceptional Service Award recipient for continuing unselfish, dedicated and distinguished service.

Louise & Bill Holladay Distinguished Fellow Award: William P. Bahnfleth received the annual award, which is given to an ASHRAE Fellow for continuous pre-eminence in engineering or research work.  

ASHRAE Hall of Fame: A. Damon Gowan was inducted into the ASHRAE Hall of Fame.



Share this story

Feedback for this story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *