Logo - CCME
Digital Issue - CCME

ASHRAE recognises members for outstanding industry and society achievements

The ASHRAE Technology Awards were presented at the 2017 ASHRAE Winter Conference

| | Jan 31, 2017 | 2:42 pm
Share this story

Atlanta, Georgia: Fifty-five people were recognised for their contributions to ASHRAE and the HVACR industry at the Society’s 2017 Winter Conference, which is being held from January 28 to February 1, in Las Vegas, Nevada, ASHRAE informed in a press communiqué.

Fellow ASHRAE, the communiqué explained, is a membership grade that recognises members who have attained distinction and made substantial contributions to the HVACR industry, such as education, research, engineering design and consultation, publications and mentoring. The Society said that elevated 22 members to the grade of Fellow:

  • Charles S. Barnaby, Life Member, BEMP, a building software developer, Moultonborough, New Hampshire
  • Charlene Warres Bayer, Ph.D., Chairman and Chief Science Officer, Hygieia Sciences LLC., Atlanta, Georgia
  • Michel Bernier, Ph.D., P.E., Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Polytechnique Montreal, Quebec
  • James J. Bushnell, Life Member, Owner, HVAC Consulting Services, Solana Beach, California
  • Thomas D. Colvin, P.E., Life Member, Senior Consultant, Colvin Engineering Associates Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah
  • John F. Dunlap, P.E., BEAP, BEMP, CPMP, HBDP, HFDP, President, Dunlap & Partners Engineers, Richmond, Virginia
  • Steven J. Emmerich, Group Leader, Indoor Air Quality and Ventilation Group, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Maryland
  • Krishnan Gowri, Ph.D., Principal Engineer, Generative Design Group, Autodesk, San Francisco, California
  • John L. Harrod, P.E., Life Member, HFDP, Edmond, Okla
  • Eliseo Huergo, Ing., Life Member, President, Termair S.A., Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Julia Keen, Ph.D., P.E., BEAP, HBDP, Professor, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas
  • Thomas M. Lawrence, Ph.D., P.E., Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering Program, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia
  • Zoltan Magyar, Ph.D., Head of the Department of Building Energetics and Building Service Engineering, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary
  • David R. Olson, P.E., Vice President, PCD Engineering Services, Longmont, Colorado.
  • Richard L. Pavlak, P.E. President, Heapy Engineering, Dayton, Ohio
  • Michael Rosenberg, Senior Research Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington
  • Timothy A. Shedd, Ph.D., CEO and CTO, Ebullient, Madison, Wisconsin
  • Carey J. Simonson, Ph.D., P.E., Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Robert L. Towell, P.E., Commissioning Program Manager and Vice President, CxE Group LLC., Edwardsville, Illinois
  • Phillip M. Trafton, Life Member, Principal, Donald F. Dickerson Associates, Tarzana, California
  • R. Vijayakumar, Ph.D., Consultant-in-Chief/Founder, Aerfil, Liverpool, New York.
  • Fu-Jen Wang, Ph.D., P.E., Professor, Department of Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Energy Engineering, National Chin-Yi University of Technology, Taichung City, Taiwan.

Also presented at the conference, the communiqué said, were the ASHRAE Technology Awards that recognise outstanding achievements by ASHRAE members who have successfully applied innovative building designs. The winning designs, it added, incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air quality (IAQ) and serve to communicate innovative systems design. The following are the winners:

  • Kitaro Mizuide, Ph.D., P.Eng., General Manager of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Division, NIKKEN SEKKEI Ltd., Osaka, Japan, receives first place in the new commercial buildings category for the YKK80 Building, Tokyo
  • Adam C. S. Wheeler, P.E., Principal, Sherrill Engineering, San Francisco, California, receives first place in the existing building commissioning, other institutional buildings category for the University of California, San Francisco, Parnassus Services Seismic Replacement Building MBCx
  • Bradford Crowley, P.E., Associate Principal, Ballinger, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, receives first place in the new educational facility category for the Johns Hopkins University Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories, Baltimore, Maryland
  • Julien Allard, Mechanical Engineer, Project Manager and Shareholder, Bouthillette Parizeau, Montreal, Quebec, receives first place in the new industry facilities or processes category for the Construction du Centre de transport Stinson, Montreal
  • Kurt Monteiro, P.Eng., HFDP, HBDP, Smith + Andersen, Toronto, Ontario, receives first place in the new health care facilities category for Humber River Hospital, Toronto
  • Brian Rose, P.E., Mechanical Engineer, CMTA, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Tracy Steward, Mechanical Engineer, CMTA, Louisville, Kentucky, receive first place in the new commercial buildings category for the Cincinnati District 3 Police Headquarters – Net Zero Energy Building, Ohio
  • Shannon M. Allison, Integral Group, Oakland, California, receives first place in the existing commercial buildings category for 435 Indio Way, Sunnyvale, California

Share this story

Feedback for this story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *