Logo - CCME
Digital Issue - CCME

ASHRAE announces winners of the 2017 First Place awards

The society is also celebrating 35 Years of the ASHRAE Technology Awards

| | Jan 22, 2017 | 11:48 am
Share this story

Atlanta, Georgia: ASHRAE has announced the winners of the 2017 First Place awards, which will be presented at the 2017 ASHRAE Winter Conference. The conference, the announcement said, will take place from January 28 to February 1 at Caesars Palace, with the co-sponsored AHR Expo being held from January 30 to February 1, 2017, at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

The society, the announcement said, is also celebrating 35 years of the ASHRAE Technology Awards, which have recognised outstanding achievements in the innovative designs of buildings in the areas of occupant comfort, indoor air quality (IAQ) and energy conservation. This year, a vivarium, training laboratories, a transport center, a hospital, a police headquarters and two office buildings join the more than 300 projects that have been recognised since 1981, added the announcement.

ASHRAE said that the following designers and owners have been recognised with First Place awards:

Category I – Commercial Buildings – New
Kitaro Mizuide
YKK80 Building, Tokyo

Category I – Commercial Buildings – New
Brian Rose, Tracy Steward
Cincinnati District 3 Police HQ – NZE Building


Category I – Commercial Buildings – Existing
Shannon M. Allison
435 Indio Way

Category II –  Educational Facilities – New
Bradford Crowley
Johns Hopkins University, Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories

Category II – Other Institutional Buildings – EBCx
Adam C. S. Wheeler
University of California, San Francisco Parnassus Services Seismic Replacement Building (PSSRB) MBCx

Category III – Health Care Facilities – New
Kurt Monteiro
Humber River Hospital

Category IV – Industrial Facilities or Processes – New
Julien Allard
STM – Construction du Centre de transport de Stinson

“Throughout the lifetime of the Technology Awards, ASHRAE has demonstrated how innovative design becomes the standard of care for the built environment,” said Scott Wayland, who chaired the judging panel for the awards last year. “The showcased projects offer lessons learned from both the design and post-occupancy phases. These real world stories from Technology Award winning projects can help all of us learn how to deliver on ASHRAE’s core values.”


Share this story

Feedback for this story

Your email address will not be published.

Sponsored Posts

» Reaching for the skies

As Techem, our work at Cayan validates our lofty capabilities and ambitions


Expo Diaries
Banner - CCGD
Banner - AHRI
Banner – CareersBay