Logo - CCME
Digital Issue - CCME

HH Sheikh Ahmed honours Emirates Energy Award winners

Al Tayer exhorts power sector to play vital role in achieving higher energy efficiency

| | Oct 29, 2013 | 11:11 am
Share this story

Al Tayer exhorts power sector to play vital role in achieving higher energy efficiency

HH Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Chairman of the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy and Honorary President of Emirates Energy Award (EEA), attended the EEA 2012-2013 ceremony, organised by the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy at Grand Hyatt hotel in Dubai and honoured the winners. Announcing this, Dubai Supreme Council of Energy said that the ceremony was attended by HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Vice Chairman of the Supreme Council of Energy, Managing Director and CEO of Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA), and President of EEA; HE Ahmed Butti Al Muhairbi, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Energy; DEWA’s Board Members; senior government officials; business executives; energy experts; and representatives of energy companies.

The awards presented every two years, recognises the best practices and leading initiatives in the areas of energy efficiency, alternative energy, sustainability, and environmental protection in the MENA region, Dubai Supreme Council of Energy informed.

The different categories and winners were as follows:

Large Energy Project

  • Gold: NAREVA Holding (Morocco)
  • Silver: Shams Power Company
  • Bronze: Roads & Transport Authority (RTA)

Small Energy Project

  • Gold: Emirates Integrated Telecommunications Company, du
  • Silver: Dubai Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Bronze: Empower Company

Energy Efficiency for Public Sector

  • Gold: Masdar
  • Silver: RTA
  • Bronze: RasGas (Qatar)

Energy Efficiency for Private Sector

  • Gold: Al-Futtaim Group Real Estate
  • Silver: Arab Contractors Company (Egypt)
  • Bronze: ABB/Al-Khaleej Sugar Company

Education Energy Award

  • Gold: Friends of Environment Society (Jordan)
  • Silver: Dr Hanan Talib (UAE)
  • Bronze: HSBC Bank (UAE)

Research & Development Award

  • Gold: Ayman Adnan Almaitah (Jordan)
  • Silver: The University of Bahrain
  • Bronze: Nitrate Production System (Jordan)

Young Professional Energy Award

  • Gold: Abdul Aziz Al Obaidli (UAE)
  • Silver: Mahmoud Shatel (Jordan)
  • Bronze: Aisha Ali, Aya Abu Hani and Noora Rashed Al Kaizi (UAE)

A Special Recognition Award presented to organisations succeeding in reducing energy consumption: Saudi Aramco; Hamdan Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Sports Complex; Dubai Investment Park; Sheikh Zayed Housing Programme; Emirates Transport, for the use of clean transportation fuels; Dubai Silicon Oasis; and Drydocks World.

Following the award ceremony, Al Tayer congratulated the winners and called on all involved in the energy sector to play a vital role in strengthening the cooperation to achieve the highest levels efficiency energy. He also explained that the Award’s Executive Committee, in cooperation with international organisations, is working on expanding the geographical scope of the award worldwide.

In a separate news release, Masdar, Abu Dhabi’s renewable energy company, shared the news of winning three EEA awards. Masdar said that its 100-megawatt concentrated solar power (CSP) plant, Shams 1, received an award in the Large Energy Project category, while Masdar City received an award in the Energy Efficiency category, and Abdulaziz Al Obaidli, a Process Performance Engineer at Shams 1, was recognised with an award in the Young Professional Energy category.

Share this story

Feedback for this story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *